How to manually approve members
Here's how you would set that up:
- In MemberSpace > click Customize > click General Options > check off 'Manually Approve Members' at the top and then click Save Your Changes:
- Now whenever anyone tries to join any Member Plan you offer, they will be shown this message after they create their account:
You can edit the wording of the 'Thank you for joining!' message by going to Customize > Custom Wording > Notifications & Alerts > then scroll down to 'After registration needs approval text' > after editing click Save Changes.
You can also edit the wording of the 'A site admin still needs to approve...' message by going to Customize > Custom Wording > Notification Pop Ups > then scroll down to 'After registration needs approval text' > after editing click Save Changes.
- You as the Site Owner will get an email notifying you whenever a new account is created and there will be a link to view the account. After you click that link, you'll be able to easily approve any new member:
- You can always see a list of any members who are awaiting approval by clicking Members in your top navigation and then filtering the Approval status by Awaiting Approval:You can then approve or deny members right within that list, or click 'View member details' if you want to see their full details like in Step 3 above:
- After you approve a member, they will get a Member Email called Member Approval. In the email will be a link for them to log into their account and if they were trying to join a paid Member Plan of yours they will now be asked to enter their billing details before officially being part of the plan and getting page/content access.
You can edit the wording of this email by going to Customize > Member Emails > and clicking on Member Approval.
If you deny a member they will get a different email called Member Denial. You can edit the wording of this email (or disable it altogether) by going to Customize > Member Emails > and click on Member Denial.
- After you approve a member and they enter their billing details (if joining a paid plan) they will now be on the plan they originally tried to join.
You can always deny a member in the future as well which will stop them from accessing any Member Pages or content of yours. However, this will NOT cancel any recurring or multiple payment going forward so you'll still need to cancel their plan here: